Raphael Cabernet Franc 2007 – North Fork Long Island (not what we expected)

We picked this up on our trip to the Hamptons a few weeks back.  Our experience with Cab Franc has mainly focused on Napa and Walla Walla juice, so this was our first foray into the Long Island varietal.  I poured a little into the glass and did some aggressive swirling to open it up a bit.  After literally breathing in the wine for a minute, I sensed an earthiness that reminded me of mushrooms on an old leather sofa: not what I look for in a wine.  So, I forged ahead and took a taste and to my disappointment, my nose did not steer me wrong.  The wine is produced without any oak and that’s very clear in the astringent, tangy mouth feel and lack of the big fruit that is more reminiscent in the new world cab franc style.  This is one of the first wines in a long time that I would not purchase again.

Leave a Reply

