2008 Shinn Estate Vineyards Coalescence

We picked up this Shinn Estate Long Island white wine while in the Hamptons and enjoyed it with our homemade spring risotto last night (separate post on the way).  This interesting blend of chardonnay, sauvignon blanc, merlot blanc, and riesling smelled like a fruit patch when I pulled out the cork.  I thought that I had cut into an apricot and stuck my nose in it and bitten a honeydew at the same time.   Taste-wise, it’s a really fun wine because it still has that fruit, but the sau blanc gives it the crispness that you can often miss when a wine has a fruity nose.  I didn’t expect it, but this white blend is a really well balanced wine that I think anyone would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

