Saintsbury Carneros Pinot Noir Toyon Farm 2007

While at Press Club, the beginning of the red tasting started with the Toyon Farm Pinot from Carneros by Saintsbury.  Admittedly, I’m touch and go with Pinot and often find the earthy, mineral pinot popular in Eurpoe outside of my taste zone.  I don’t love an overly fruity one either, so something in the middle is more up my alley.  The Toyon farm was that wine for me; you get a hint of spice, some light blackberry fruit and a little floral too.  It’s somewhere between old and new world and it definitely was enjoyed by many (including me).  I’ll add Saintsbury to the spreadsheet for the next wine country trip.

Leave a Reply

