Local Lamb Chops & Mushrooms from the Rittenhouse Market @FarmToCity

It’s really amazing how buying local food is both good for the soul and the taste buds.  I stopped at the Rittenhouse Market yesterday (http://www.farmtocity.org/FarmersMarkets.asp) and got the following:

-New York Strip & Baby Spinach from Rineer Family Farm (PA)

-Lamb Chops from Cherry Grove Farm (NJ)

-Mushrooms…from Kennett Square

As Ian from Cherry Grove farm recommended, I marinated the lamb chops in a soy sauce mixture.  I added brown mustard, sesame oil, fresh parsley, salt, and pepper to the soy and let it soak (for you deadliest catch fans) for 4 hours.  Brought it to room temp before cooking under a hot broiler for 4 minutes per side.  Let it rest for about 5 minutes before service.  Just plain awesome.  I only wish the chops were larger or that I bought more.

For the mushrooms, I bought 2 small boxes: shitake and crimini.  I like to chop them up and saute with a bit of olive oil, garlic, paprika, smoked paprika, salt, and pepper for about 15-20 mins until most of the water is out of the ‘shroom and the flavor concentrates.  These local fungi were picked/cut at 4:30am the same day, so they couldn’t have been any fresher.

Meals like this inspire me to join a CSA, so maybe I finally will.

Leave a Reply

