Maverick Restaurant, The Mission, San Francisco

I went to Maverick tonight with the sister-in-laws and had a great meal.  They really know how to prepare down-home meals in a fresh, organic, fashion that showcases the main ingredient (a la iron chef?).  My summer squash soup was enjoyable, although I’m not sure what was significantly different than a fall squash soup…

The dinner is where they really shined.  My bourbon honey pork chop with candied pecans and cornbread was the most tender chop I’ve ever had.  This chop tasted as if it was injected with juice as it was so incredibly moist and flavorful.  This could be due to the high quality of the meat, a marinade?, or just perfect preparation.  Either way, I don’t think I can duplicate it and may not try, though I will return and anyone in the area should do the same.

Leave a Reply

